State Apiarists

State Apiarist Directory

ALABAMA
Randy Hamann
Chief Apiary Inspector
Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries
Apiary Protection Unit
1445 Federal Drive
Montgomery, AL 36107-1123

Phone: 334-850-7758
Email: randy.hamann@agi.alabama.gov


ALASKA
Mia Kirk
Development Specialist
Alaska Division of Agriculture
Inspection & Regulatory Program
1800 Glenn Highway, Suite 12
Palmer, AK 99645

Phone: (907)-761-3853
Email: Mia.Kirk@alaska.gov


ARIZONA
Jack Peterson
Associate Director
Arizona Department of Agriculture, Environmental Sciences
1688 West Adams Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Phone: (602)-542-3575
Email: jpeterson@azda.gov


ARKANSAS

Mark Stoll, Apiary Manager
Arkansas State Plant Board, Apiary Section
P.O. Box 1069
Little Rock, AR 72203

Phone: (501)-225-1598

Email: Mark.stoll@aspb.ar.gov

 


COLORADO
Laura Pottorff
Apiary Program Coordinator
Colorado State Department of Agriculture
Division of Plant Industry
305 Interlocken Parkway
Broomfield, CO 80021

Phone: (303) 869-9070

Email: laura.pottorff@state.co.us


CONNECTICUT
Kirby Stafford III
State Entomologist
Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, Inspection and Registrations
P.O. Box 1106
New Haven, CT 06504-1106

Phone: (203)974-8485

Email: Kirby.Stafford@ct.gov


DELAWARE
Meghan McConnell
State Apiarist
Delaware Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Section
2320 South DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901

Phone: (302)698-4585

Email: Meghan.McConnell@state.de.us


FLORIDA
David Westervelt
Chief of Apiary Inspection
FL Dept. of Ag. & Consumer Services
Bureau of Plant & Apiary Inspection
The Doyle Conner Building
1911 SW 34 St.
Gainesville, FL 32608-1201

Phone: (352) 395-4633

Email: David.Westervelt@FreshFromFlorida.com


GEORGIA
David Williams
Apiary and Export Certification Programs
Georgia Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection
P.O. Box 114
Tifton, GA 31793

Phone: (229) 386-3464

Email: david.williams@agr.georgia.gov


HAWAII
Noelani Waters
Apiary Section Chief
Hawaii Department of Agriculture
Hawaii Apiary Program
16 East Lanikaula Street
Hilo, HI 96720

Phone: (808) 339-1977

Email: Noelani.waters@hawaii.gov


IDAHO
Nick Deeds
Ag Program Specialist
Idaho Department of Agriculture
Bureau of Feeds and Plant Services
P.O. Box 790
Boise, ID 83701-0790

Phone: (208) 332-8620

Email: nick.deeds@agri.idaho.gov


ILLINOIS
Steve Chard
Apiary Inspection Supervisor
Illinois Dept. of Agriculture
PO Box 19281
Springfield, IL 62794-9281

Phone: (217) 782-6297

Email: steve.chard@illinois.gov


INDIANA
Kathleen M. Prough
Chief Apiary Inspector
IN Dept of Natural Resources
Div. of Ent. & Plant Pathology
402 W. Washington St
Room W290
Indinapolis, IN 46204

Phone: (317) 232-4123

Email: kprough@dnr.in.gov


IOWA
Andrew Joseph
State Apiarist
Iowa Department of Agriculture
Entomology and Plant Science Bureau
Iowa Laboratory Facility
2230 South Ankeny Blvd.
Ankeny, IA 50023

Phone: (515) 725-1470
Email: andrew.joseph@IowaAgriculture.gov


KANSAS
Jeff Vogel
Program Manager
Kansas Department of Agriculture
Plant Protection and Weed Control
1320 Research Park Drive
Manhattan, KS 66502

Phone: (785) 564-6700

Email: jeff.vogel@ks.gof


KENTUCKY
Tammy Potter
State Apiarist
Kentucky Dept. of Agriculture
Office of the State Veterinarian
109 Corporate Drive
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Phone: (502) 229-2950
Email: Tammy.Potter@ky.gov


LOUSIANA
Ansel Rankins, Sr.
State Entomologist
Horticulture & Quarantine Programs
5825 Florida Blvd., Suite 3002
Baton Rouge, LA 70806

Phone: (225) 952-8100
Email: horticulture@ldaf.state.la.us


MAINE
Jennifer Lund
State Apiarist
Maine Dept. of Agriculture
Conservation, and Forestry
Apiary Program
28 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

Phone: (207) 287-3891
Email: jennifer.lund@maine.gov


MARYLAND
Cybil Preston
State Apiarist
MD Dept. of Agriculture
Plant Protection Section
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: (410) 841-5920
Email: cybil.preston@maryland.gov


MASSACHUSETTS
Kim Skyrm
Chief Apiary Inspector
Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources
Apiary Programs
101 University Dr., Suite C-4
Amherst, MA 01002

Phone: (413)-548-1905
Email: Kim.Skyrm@state.ma.us


MICHIGAN
Michael G. Hansen
State Apiarist
MI Dept. of Agriculture
Pesticide & Platn Pest Mgmt. Div.
4032 M-130
Building 116
St. Joseph, MI 49085

Phone: (269) 428-2575
Email: hansenmg@michigan.gov


MINNESOTA
Blane White
Apiary Program Coordinator
MN Dept. of Agriculture
Plant Protection Division
325 Robert Street N.
St. Paul, MN 55155-2538

Phone: (651) 201-6578
Email: blane.white@state.mn.us


MISSISSIPPI
Kenneth Calcote
Director
MS Dept. of Agriculture
Bureau of Plant Industry
PO Box 5207
Mississippi State, MS 39762

Phone: (662) 325-8488
Email: kenneth@mdac.state.ms.us


MISSOURI
Collin Wamsley
State Entomologist
MO Dept. of Agriculture
 Plant Pest Control Program
P.O. Box 630
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573) 751 5505
Email: collin.wamsley@mda.mo.gov


MONTANA
Alyssa Piccolomini
Natural Resource Program Manager
MT Dept. of Agriculture
Apiary Program
302 N. Roberts
Helena, MT 59620

Phone: (406) 444-3790
Email: APiccolomini@mt.gov


NEBRASKA
Julie van Meter
State Entomologist
Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Apiary Inspection Program
P.O. Box 94756
Lincoln, NE 68509-4756

Phone: (402) 471-2351
Email: julie.vanmeter@nebraska.gov


NEVADA
Jeff Knight
State Entomologist
Nevada Department of Agriculture
Plant Industry -Entomology
405 South 21st Street
Sparks, NV 89431

Phone: (775) 353-3767
Email: jknight@agri.nv.gov


NEW HAMPSHIRE
Piera Siegert
State Entomologist
New Hampshire Department of Agriculture
Division of Plant Industry
State Lab Bldg., 6 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301

Phone: (603) 271-2561
Email: piera.siegert@agr.nh.gov


NEW JERSEY
Tim Schuler
State Apiarist
NJ Dept. of Agriculture
Division of Plant Industry
PO box 330
Trenton, NJ 08625-0330

Phone: (609) 406-6939
Email: tim.schuler@ag.state.nj.us


NEW MEXICO
Brad Lewis
Assisitant Director
NM Dept. of Agriculture
Entomology & Nursery Industries
MSC 3AQ, Box 30005
Las Cruces, NM 88003

Phone: (575) 646-3207
Email: bcent@nmda.nmsu.edu


NEW YORK
Paul Cappy, 
Apiculturist
New York Dept. of Agriculture & Markets
Division of Plant Industry
10 B Airline Drive
Albany, NY 12235

Phone: (518) 457 2087
Email: paul.cappy@agriculture.ny.gov


NORTH CAROLINA
Donald I Hopkins
Apiary Inspection Supervisor
NC Dept. of Agriculture
Plant Protection Section
1060 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1060

Phone: (919) 218-3310
Email: don.hopkins@ncagr.gov


NORTH DAKOTA
SAMANTHA BRUNNER
State Apiary Inspector
ND Dept. of Agriculture
Apiary Program
600 E. Boulevard Ave, Department 602
Bismarck, ND 58505-0020

Phone: 701-328-4765
Email: sbrunner@nd.gov


OHIO
Barbara Bloetscher
Apiary Specialist
OH Dept. of Agriculture
Division of Plant Health
8995 East Main Street
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-3399

Phone: (614) 728-6373
Email: apiary@agri.ohio.gov


OKLAHOMA
Jayce Prock
Environmental Programs Administrator
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture
Food, & Forestry, Consumer Protection Services
P.O. Box 528804
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-8804

Phone: (405) 522-5974
Email: jayce.prock@ag.ok.gov


OREGON
Clinton Burfitt
Program Manager
OR Dept. of Agriculture
Insect Pest Prevention and Management
Agriculture Building, 635 Capitol Street, NE.
Salem, OR 97310

Phone: (503) 986-4663
Email: cburfitt@oda.state.or.us


PENNSYLVANIA
Karen Roccasecca
State Apiarist
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
Apiary and Pollinator Services
2301 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17110

Phone: (717) 346-9567
Email: kroccasecc@pa.gov


RHODE ISLAND
James R Lawson
State Apiary Inspector
Rhode Island Dept. of Environmental Mgmt
Division of Agri. & Resource Marketing
235 Promenade St
Room 370
Providence, RI 02908-5767

Phone: (401) 222-2781 Ext: 4519
Email: james.lawson@dem.ri.gov


SOUTH CAROLINA
Bradley Cavin
State Apiarist
Clemson University
Department of Plant Industry
511 Westinghouse Road
Pendleton, SC 29670

Phone: (864) 680-8223
Email: scavin@clemson.edu


SOUTH DAKOTA
Robert Reiners
State Apiarist
SD Dept. of Agriculture
Agronomy Services
Foss Building
523 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3182

Phone: (605) 773-3796
Email: bob.reiners@state.sd.us


TENNESSEE
Michael Studer
State Apiarist
TN Dept. of Agirculture
Ellington Agricultural Center
Box 40627, Melrose Station
Nashville, TN 37204

Phone: (615) 837-5342
Email: mike.studer@tn.gov


TEXAS
Mark Dykes
Chief Apiary Inspector
Texas A & M University
Texas Apiary Inspection Service
2475 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-2475

Phone: (979) 845-9714
Email: mdykes@tamu.edu


UTAH
Kris Watson
State Entomologist
UT State Dept. of Agriculture
Plants & Pests
350 N. Redwood Rd.
P.O. Box 146500
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500

Phone: (801) 538-7184
Email: UDAF-Insects@utah.gov


VERMONT
Henry Marckres
Consumer Protection Chief
Vermont Agency of Agriculture
Food Safety & Consumer Protection
100 State Street Rm 342
Montpelier, VT 05620-3206

Phone: (802) 828-2426
Email: henry.marckres@vermont.gov


VIRGINIA
Keith R. Tignor
State Apiarist
VA State Dept. of Agriculture
Office of Plant & Pest Services
P.O. Box 1163
Richmond, VA 23218

Phone: (804) 786-3515
Email: keith.tignor@vdacs.virginia.gov


WASHINGTON
Leah Doyle
Program Specialist
Washington Department of Agriculture
Plant Protection Division
1111 Washington Street SE
P.O. Box 42560
Olympia, WA 98504-2560

Phone: (360) 902-2070
Email: ldoyle@agr.wa.gov


WEST VIRGINIA
Wade Stiltner
State Apiarist
WV Dept. of Agriculture
Plant Industries Division
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25305-0178

Phone: (304) 550-0589
Email: wstiltner@ag.state.wv.us


WISCONSIN
Elizabeth Meils
State Apiarist
WI Dept. of Agriculture
Trade and Consumer Protection
Apiary Inspections
P.O. Box 8911
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53708-8911

Phone: (608) 224-4572
Email: elizabeth.meils@wisconsin.gov


WYOMING
Henry R. Uhden
Consumer Protection Supervisor
WY Dept. of Agriculture
Plant Industry Program
2219 Carey Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002

Phone: (307) 777-6574
Email: hank.uhden@wyo.gov